Between 2010 and 2021, 26,145 retail pharmacies in the United States closed and 30,773 opened, according to a study published in Health Affairs in December 20241. For most of that stretch openings won. From 2018 on they did not, and the country ended the period with a net loss of 2.1 percent of its pharmacies over those last three years.
Who closed is the more interesting finding. Independent pharmacies, owned by a pharmacist or a small group and usually running one to a handful of stores, closed at a much higher rate than chain stores over the full 12 years. Yet in the years when the total fell, the net decline came mainly from chains.
Both kinds of pharmacy dispense the same FDA-approved drugs and answer to the same state boards of pharmacy. What differs is ownership, the neighborhoods they serve and how each has held up under reimbursement pressure.
How many there are
Independents are counted every year by the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA), the trade group for independent pharmacies. Its 2026 Digest, released Oct. 4, 20263, estimates 18,988 independent community pharmacies, essentially unchanged from 18,960 in 2025. The 2025 edition4 had put the 2024 count at 18,984. NCPA says independents make up nearly 37 percent of US retail pharmacies and that no single chain has more stores than all independents combined.
For all retail pharmacies, the Health Affairs authors used National Council for Prescription Drug Programs data, which they treat as a census. Their count1 rose 7.7 percent, from 59,902 pharmacies in 2010 to 64,530 in 2021.
What the closure research found
The study followed every retail pharmacy that operated at some point from 2010 to 2020, a cohort of 88,930 stores. By 2021, 29.4 percent of them had closed. The paper's exhibits1 break the result down by pharmacy type and neighborhood.
| Measure (Health Affairs, 2024) | Chain | Independent | All |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pharmacies in the 2010 to 2020 cohort | 49,247 | 38,804 | 88,930 (about 1% other types) |
| Share closed by 2021 | 21.9% | 38.9% | 29.4% |
| Change in store count, 2018 to 2021 | Down 5.0% | Up 2.3% | Down 2.1% |
| Closure share, predominantly Black neighborhoods | 33.6% | 41.0% | Not reported |
| Closure share, predominantly Latinx neighborhoods | 16.7% | 47.8% | Not reported |
| Closure share, rural neighborhoods | 25.6% | 34.3% | Not reported |
| Sole pharmacy in its neighborhood | 3.7% | 10.0% | Not reported |
After adjusting for neighborhood and market factors, an independent's risk of closing was 2.33 times a chain's, the authors reported1. Independents had the higher risk in every neighborhood and market category they examined.
Those two findings fit together once openings are counted. Many independents closed, but enough new ones opened that their total grew 2.3 percent from 2018 to 2021, while chain counts fell 5.0 percent. A summary from the University of Southern California's Schaeffer Center2 made the same point about the 2018 to 2021 decline.
Neighborhood mattered too. Pharmacies in predominantly Black and Latinx neighborhoods faced higher closure risk than those in predominantly White ones. Predominantly Black neighborhoods saw the steepest drop from 2018 to 2021, with 4.8 percent fewer pharmacies of any type and 12.6 percent fewer chain pharmacies, according to the study1.
A closed independent is more likely to leave a gap. Independents were more than twice as likely as chains to be the only pharmacy in their neighborhood, 10.0 percent against 3.7 percent.
The paper did not measure causes. Its authors pointed to reimbursement pressure and pharmacy network design as likely contributors, and recommended policies to bring more independents into Medicare and Medicaid preferred networks. They also said they could not assess whether pandemic-related factors or growth in mail-order use played a part, which leaves the link to mail-order pharmacy an open question.
Pharmacy deserts and the Part D distance rules
Definitions of a pharmacy desert vary, and most start from distance to the nearest store. NCPA's 2025 Digest release4 reported that roughly one in eight US neighborhoods met the criteria for a pharmacy shortage area developed with the University of Southern California.
Federal rules address access only for Medicare drug plans. Under 42 CFR 423.1205, a Part D plan's retail network must, on average, put 90 percent of urban enrollees within 2 miles of a network pharmacy, 90 percent of suburban enrollees within 5 miles and 70 percent of rural enrollees within 15 miles.
| Area type | Share of a plan's enrollees covered | Maximum distance to a network retail pharmacy |
|---|---|---|
| Urban | 90% | 2 miles |
| Suburban | 90% | 5 miles |
| Rural | 70% | 15 miles |
Those standards apply to a plan's network as a whole. A plan can meet them while one neighborhood loses its only store, so residents in that position typically travel farther, use another network pharmacy, or turn to delivery or mail. GxRadar's pharmacy finder lists pharmacies registered in the federal NPI registry by ZIP code from the federal provider registry.
Services and money
Pharmacies of both types give vaccines, counsel patients on new prescriptions, run medication reviews and sell over-the-counter products. Many check blood pressure, and some offer point-of-care testing where state law allows.
NCPA surveys its own members on services, so the figures below describe independents only. GxRadar does not have a comparable survey for chain stores.
| Service offered by independent pharmacies in 2025 (NCPA 2026 Digest) | Share offering |
|---|---|
| Flu immunization | 91% |
| Medication therapy management | 81% |
| Blood pressure monitoring | 62% |
| Long-term care services | 55% |
| Compounding | 48% |
Prescriptions are the business. The 2026 Digest3 put the independent pharmacy market at $103 billion in 2025, with more than 96 percent of sales from the prescription department. The average independent filled 65,795 prescriptions in 2025, down from 67,601 in 2024; 81 percent of its prescriptions were generics, and government programs paid for nearly half.
That last figure is why public payment rules hit independents hard. Medicaid's approach to paying for generics is covered in Medicaid and generic drug prices, and the Medicare side in Part D changes in 2025 and 2026. Chains and independents are paid through the same claims system, with rates set largely by network contracts that pharmacy benefit managers negotiate for health plans; GxRadar's explainer on how pharmacies get paid walks through a single claim.
For patients the useful questions are the same at either kind of store: whether it is in the plan's network, whether it is a preferred pharmacy, and what it charges cash customers. Those prices vary, as why the same generic costs different amounts explains, and asking for the cash price works the same way at an independent as at a chain. Medicare's open enrollment for 2027 coverage, when plans' preferred-pharmacy lists can be compared, closes Dec. 7, 2026.
Sources and notes
- Guadamuz JS et al., via PubMed Central (2024). More US Pharmacies Closed Than Opened in 2018-21. Health Affairs 43(12):1703-1711
pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC12988438/ - USC Schaeffer Center (2024). Summary of the Health Affairs pharmacy closure study
schaeffer.usc.edu/research/more-us-pharmacies-closed-than-opened-in-2018-21-independent-ph - Pharmacy Times (2026). NCPA Releases 2026 Digest Report
www.pharmacytimes.com/view/ncpa-releases-2026-digest-report - Pharmacy Times (2025). NCPA Releases 2025 Digest Report
www.pharmacytimes.com/view/ncpa-releases-2025-digest-report - eCFR (2026). 42 CFR 423.120, Access to covered Part D drugs
www.ecfr.gov/current/title-42/chapter-IV/subchapter-B/part-423/subpart-C/section-423.120
Superscript numbers in the text link to these sources. GxRadar data (NADAC histories, recall and shortage counts) come from CMS and FDA files described on the sources page. Researched and drafted with AI assistance and checked against the sources above. Information current as of Nov 3, 2026 and may change. Spot an error? It will be corrected once confirmed.
Cited by
How pharmacy dispensing fees workHow the NADAC survey picks its pharmacies, and who answersWhat the 2026 federal PBM law changes, and what states did firstWhat the FTC's study of pharmacy benefit managers foundHow pharmacies get paid for a prescriptionWhat NADAC measures, and what it leaves outHow to ask for the cash price at the pharmacyMail-order pharmacy basicsPharmacy deserts, and what the closure data showThe Drug Supply Chain Security Act and drug serializationNot health advice. GxRadar is for general information only. Nothing here is medical, pharmacy, legal or financial advice. Do not start, stop or change any medicine based on this site. Talk to your pharmacist or prescriber about your own situation. Laws, prices and program rules described here can change; confirm current details with the official source.